Team Harju win VISTA 2012-2013 world championship

Team Harju, the VISTA team from the Volvo Truck Centre in Tampere, Finland, are the new world champions after finishing first in this week’s world final in Gothenburg.

On Tuesday, June 25, 32 teams comprised of the very best technicians and personnel in Volvo Trucks’ and Volvo Busses’ global service network, gathered at Volvo Trucks Training Centre in Gothenburg for the VISTA 2012-2013 world final.

After an intensive day of competition, participants gathered for a gala dinner and award ceremony, where Claes Nilsson, President of Volvo Trucks, announced Team Harju as the world champions of VISTA 2012-2013.

“We’re extremely happy and proud to be the world champions,” claimed a stunned Immo Harju, team leader, shortly after the result was announced. “The competition has been very demanding and it was a tough day. Some of the tasks were quite stressful, but we all know each other well and work great together as a team.”

Second prize went to NTC 1 of Switzerland, and third prize went to MC Hammers from the UK. Additional awards were given for Best Team Spirit, Newcomer of the Year, and Best Team Leader.

The world final brings VISTA 2012-2013 to a close – the most successful competition in VISTA’s 55-year history. Originally over 17,000 participants in 93 countries registered for the competition, and it is estimated that it has produced over 475,000 hours of additional training for Volvo Trucks and Volvo Buses’ global service network.

“It’s been an overwhelming experience – very exciting, a mixture of emotions, and I’m thrilled to have been part of it all,” says Jessica Lindholm, VISTA Project Manager. “I’ve met so many skilled technicians from all over the world. They work differently, and cover a diverse range of languages and cultures, but they all have the same passion and teamwork, which is what brought them all here to Gothenburg. This week, they’ve had the opportunity to network and share experiences with colleagues from all over the world. ”

VISTA 2012-2013

– Final results

World Champion
Team Harju, Volvo Truck Centre, Tampere, Finland: Immo Harju, Atte Almonkari, Jesse Laukkanen, Juha-Pekka Keskifrantti.

NTC1, Nef Truckcenter AG, Frenkendorf, Switzerland: Marc Hemund, Fabrian Sutterlin, Javier Salgado, Nico Hertel.

MC Hammers, MC Truck and Bus, West Thurrock, UK: Ryan Garrett, John Walker, Stuart Hall, Darren Sladden.

Team Spirit Award
Benecia, Volvo Truck Centre, Hwaseong, Korea: Eunsun Kang, Jonghee Lee, Hyojong Nam, Seonghwan Shln.

VISTA Newcomer of the year
Wetteri Power Oy, Oulu, Finland: Sami Eskola, Janu Piippo, Rauno Keskitalo, Timo Jurmu.

Best team leader
Matheus Henrique de Avila, Brazil

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIN
Tagged in